Viewing 11 posts - 16 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1600196
    le-dolly
    le-dolly
    Participant
    Joined: 16 Nov 2009
    Location: La Souterraine-23 Depuis sept 2005
    Total posts: 1230

    You cannot create three way switching with three two way switches. Hence the need for an intermediate switch or the suggested other solution using a relay.

    Or use the untidy four two way switch method.


    Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) http://www.pink-electrique.fr

    #1600400
    Avatar
    basileus
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Apr 2012
    Location: Aveyron
    Total posts: 407

    I am intrigued. Can you show me a schematic/wiring diagram?


    #1600419
    le-dolly
    le-dolly
    Participant
    Joined: 16 Nov 2009
    Location: La Souterraine-23 Depuis sept 2005
    Total posts: 1230

    I am intrigued. Can you show me a schematic/wiring diagram?

    Look further up the post.


    Le-Dolly ( . )( . ) http://www.pink-electrique.fr

    #1600435
    Avatar
    nric
    Participant
    Joined: 14 Jun 2012
    Location: 12
    Total posts: 76

    Thanks for the replies all. I think we’ll settle for the permutateur idea if I can find them. We have already pulled the cables in before realising it wasn’t an ‘everyday’ switch here.

    I have got a local wholesaler but the Rexel idea sounds good, stopping of at one on my way from the ferry next time.


    nric

    #1600462
    Avatar
    basileus
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Apr 2012
    Location: Aveyron
    Total posts: 407

    Couldn’t see the double switch in Mikej’s photo….
    Thanks all the same.


    • This reply was modified 27 Feb 2015 10:16 by  basileus.
    #1600482
    robertarthur
    robertarthur
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Nov 2010
    Location: Nièvre (58)
    Total posts: 2157

    Basileus, with the help of a virtual magnifying glass you’ll discover even two solutions for intermediate switching. Source: “L’installation électrique”, quatrième édition 2012, page 370.


    RA

    #1795523
    Avatar
    mikej
    Participant
    Joined: 21 Jun 2011
    Location: Dordogne sometimes and Kent the rest
    Total posts: 5287

    Since Photoshop changed its terms and conditions the pic of the circuit on page one has gone, hence:

    [/url]

    Mike


    WFIPFLL

    #1795534
    tomdenne
    tomdenne
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Oct 2008
    Location: 58 La Nièvre
    Total posts: 4459

    http://glstouch.co.uk/epages/950018119.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/950018119/Products/E1-1G3WWPK

    Kinetic wireless switches are another solution. I’m currently using a set of three switches bought direct from this helpful firm, which look neat and perform faultlessly. Virtually no wiring to worry about.


    Tom

    #1795544
    AnOther
    AnOther
    Participant
    Joined: 11 Jan 2008
    Location: W of Cahors (46)
    Total posts: 9455

    I had an ancient electro mechanical device for this job which wore out and became intermittent, I replaced it with one of these.

    Essentially wire for wire so a 10 minute job.

    https://www.cdiscount.com/search/10/leg3245060491208.html#_his_


    #1795546
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    http://glstouch.co.uk/epages/950018119.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/950018119/Products/E1-1G3WWPK

    Kinetic wireless switches are another solution. I’m currently using a set of three switches bought direct from this helpful firm, which look neat and perform faultlessly. Virtually no wiring to worry about.

    <hr>
    Tom

    A few questions Tom if you dont mind, their website is thin on detail.

    The programmable controller, does it have 2 output terminals that are switched live change-over contacts? You I guess are using it in latching mode but can it be programmed to a timed mode? If so what plage of time, can it do say 1 second for a doorbell or alert tone and also a couple of minutes for stairwell lighting?

    Does it take a certain knack of pressing for a certain time with certain pressure to be sure it works? If it were used by the great unwashed as the doorbell or stairwell lighting I mentioned would it work every time for a new person?

    Thanks for your help, the technology will be very usefull, its probably already being licensed to security system manufacturers.


    #1795548
    tomdenne
    tomdenne
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Oct 2008
    Location: 58 La Nièvre
    Total posts: 4459

    A few questions Tom if you dont mind, their website is thin on detail.

    The controller has a live and neutral input and a live and neutral output. At rest the live terminals are open circuit but the neutral terminals show some resistance. Once programmed the switches act instantly and do so over two or three floors. The controller is just a simple on/off switch but possibly a timer could be introduced on the output side of the controller because the cables go directly to the light. Below is a link to a similar system, sold under another name, by a company who don’t deliver to France but whose site gives more details….

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Thinkbee-Wireless-Required-Self-powered-Controlled/dp/B06VY9KWDD/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1506265892&sr=8-2&keywords=kinetic+light+switch


    Tom

French Electrical & Other Building Issues
Viewing 11 posts - 16 through 26 (of 26 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.