Viewing 15 posts - 316 through 330 (of 332 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1625774
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    <p abp=”887″><p abp=”828″>heat will impact the performance of an LNB (and hence signal strength) as it introduces additional noise into the solid state receptor. This is why btw astro telescopes are cooled by liquid nitrogen. This can be particularly exaggerated if the LNB is already starting to fail.

    <hr abp=”830″><br abp=”889″>
    <p abp=”831″>HdP , Villemer. France<p abp=”890″>

    <p abp=”891″>The weather forecast for saturday is over 30°C.<br abp=”892″>
    I presume I shall have problems with my 0.1db LNBs.<br abp=”893″>
    Will spraying liquid nitrogen on them ensure optimum reception of the Barcelona V Juventus game?

    <hr abp=”895″>

    More recent weather forecasts suggest that 30+°Celsius hot spot will now afflict LNBs in Deux Chevres on friday. Additionally the game will be available in HD from ITV , ZDF and TFI TNT.
    The T 90 Wave Frontier should therefore come up with acceptable reception.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1626446
    bonappetit
    bonappetit
    Participant
    Joined: 20 May 2009
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 28

    I hope some of the tinkering with this new ‘improved strength’ satellite accounts for my loss of most channels today. Luckily ITV is holding up so I’ll catch the match later on, but all C4’s, BBC1 (East Mid is in and out) and all other BBC’s are out today.

    I’ve been up the ladder with a proper sat finder but am struggling on 41% quality even after some slight adjustments. 1m dish (Gibertini) in Aude/Herault which has proved fine since the recent beam changes..

    Patience I guess!


    • This reply was modified 06 Jun 2015 17:54 by  bonappetit.
    • This reply was modified 06 Jun 2015 17:55 by  bonappetit.
    #1626509
    Hal
    Hal
    Participant
    Joined: 06 Jan 2011
    Location: Limoux, 11300 Aude.
    Total posts: 3793

    In the summer you will find that the signal drops significantly when the satellite is between the earth and the sun. For us it is around 11am and lasts up to an hour.

    <hr>

    For me today, south of Carcassonne on a 1.7 dish and a fancy LNB (German, meant to be bees knees) signal degradation from 11ish through to just after 2…

    #1626547
    bonappetit
    bonappetit
    Participant
    Joined: 20 May 2009
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 28

    It was fine again early this morning, but many channels dropping out again..

    Are we likely to see this stabilise soon?


    #1626549
    Avatar
    harasdespommiers
    Participant
    Joined: 22 Sep 2011
    Location: Fontainebleau
    Total posts: 95

    I saw yesterday on the skyinmadrid dot com website that they are suggesting that the bbc (and other) beam has been shifted north, so perhaps this is will be a permanent issue. Here just south of paris (80cm with bog standard 4 way LNB) we are at full signal strength (as measured by the sky box)


    Fontainebleau. France

    #1626553
    timdumps
    timdumps
    Participant
    Joined: 20 Dec 2007
    Location: Brighton and Pomerols Herault (34)
    Total posts: 376

    Our 1.2mtr dish was fine last week. Maybe 2mins problem with signal on Saturday 30th but nothing since and temps in range 27-30.


    Tim Dumps

    #1626556
    Avatar
    harasdespommiers
    Participant
    Joined: 22 Sep 2011
    Location: Fontainebleau
    Total posts: 95

    From the madrid dot com web site 7th June

    “Thank to our correspondents in the Landes area of France, Toulouse, Biarritz, Narbonne, Mormoiron (Avignon area), Maubourguet (near Pau), Cartagena (Costa Blanca, Spain), Tomar (Portugal), Milan, St Baise (France) Foix (S. of Toulouse), Draguignan (France), Le Muy (France), Fréjus (France)
    All report loss of BBC, ITV, C4 and C5 today.
    In Borlange, 250km NW of Stockholm, BBC & ITV are still receivable but C5 has been lost.
    Quite often, signals from one satellite can suddenly drop, owing to the satellite shifting slightly to keep within its 100km-cubed “station” in space.
    Two satellites serving the UK, Astra 2E and Astra 2F, may have carried out this manoeuvre simultaneously today. If so, this would be unusual. There may be another reason. One satellite forum user reports an increase in signal in Scotland.
    A possible explanation is that this isn’t station-keeping and that the UK beams have been eased north-westwards, making the signal weaker in the east and south of Europe. If this is the case, it is likely to be deliberate, and may be related to the forthcoming closure of Eutelsat’s 28A satellite.
    The probable reason is to enable smaller dishes in the northern British Isles. Currently, much larger Zone 2 dishes have to be used in these areas”

    This seemns to confim recent experiences in this thread – also see here www a516digital com/2015/06/final-stages-of-satellite-transfer.html


    Fontainebleau. France

    #1626565
    bonappetit
    bonappetit
    Participant
    Joined: 20 May 2009
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 28

    Our 1.2mtr dish was fine last week. Maybe 2mins problem with signal on Saturday 30th but nothing since and temps in range 27-30.

    Tim Dumps

    Maybe I should have gone right up to a 120 dish after all (I’m not a million miles away from you in Herault). I stepped up from 80 to 100 last year. What dish did you get? I’m hoping not to have to hugely upscale the mounting on the wall, so if there’s a super lightweight option I’d love to know :roll:

    My other concern is that the chap interviewed on another (Languedoc based) web site is suggestion that the new Astra 2F for SES in Luxembourg will again affect things even more..

    Clearly some cat and mouse going on, but with a rubbish 0.5 mb internet speed here, options are somewhat limited..

    Things were so much easier a couple of years ago!


    #1626568
    Avatar
    harasdespommiers
    Participant
    Joined: 22 Sep 2011
    Location: Fontainebleau
    Total posts: 95

    en dot kingofsat dot net/sat-astra2e.php provides an updated and comprehensive listing of which channels are on which satellite / transponder and more importantly which beam ( UK or Europe).

    Unfortunately for you guys in the south it looks as if bigger dishes are going to be needed :cry:


    Fontainebleau. France

    #1626656
    timdumps
    timdumps
    Participant
    Joined: 20 Dec 2007
    Location: Brighton and Pomerols Herault (34)
    Total posts: 376

    bonappetit

    Sorry can’t recall dish version and not currently in France. Not being very skilled I had it fitted by Hermann from Skydigi. Good job but not cheap. There were initial problems with strength of fitting mainly because it’s pretty windy in my area and dish is large. Have seemingly solved problem now (I hope!) He did suggest he now has an internet based solution not using a dish, but not worth it for me and obviously no good if internet where you are is poor.


    Tim Dumps

    #1626661
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    Any size dish can be ground mounted on a steel pipe.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1626678
    bonappetit
    bonappetit
    Participant
    Joined: 20 May 2009
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 28

    Any size dish can be ground mounted on a steel pipe.

    Thanks – I’ve seen loads of those around, but we have limited ground to put one on, so a wall/roof option is more or less needed…


    #1644714
    Avatar
    riquet
    Participant
    Joined: 15 Sep 2010
    Location: North Tyneside & East 82 (not there often enough)
    Total posts: 2420

    Arrived at our place on Wednesday this week and turned TV on last night. More than 14 channels of UK programmes with perfect reception, weather was clear (for details of my equipment see 1st post)


    #1644780
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    <p abp=”902″>Any size dish can be ground mounted on a steel pipe.

    <p abp=”903″>Thanks – I’ve seen loads of those around, but we have limited ground to put one on, so a wall/roof option is more or less needed…

    <hr abp=”905″>

    The concrete supporting the pipe for my dish is 60 cms depth and 30 cms by 30 cms at ground level. I find that an area the size of a large soup plate is of no inconvenience.

    <p abp=”902″>Any size dish can be ground mounted on a steel pipe.

    <p abp=”903″>Thanks – I’ve seen loads of those around, but we have limited ground to put one on, so a wall/roof option is more or less needed…

    <hr abp=”905″>

    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1661620
    Avatar
    riquet
    Participant
    Joined: 15 Sep 2010
    Location: North Tyneside & East 82 (not there often enough)
    Total posts: 2420

    All. Reporting after a quick visit to at our place last weekend.

    All UK channels (well those from 1 to 9 on the remote) worked well and reception was clear. For dish size see my original post.


TV & Radio
Viewing 15 posts - 316 through 330 (of 332 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.