Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1822461
    honeybeefrance
    honeybeefrance
    Participant
    Joined: 05 Jun 2014
    Location: France
    Total posts: 226

    should the earth cable be in gaine?

    Can it be run in the same square gaine with all the other cables?

     

    merci


    #1822462
    mysty2
    mysty2
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Jul 2012
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 9603

    Yes but if one of the electrical experts say I am wrong I will retract what I have said but I know I am right


    #1822463
    honeybeefrance
    honeybeefrance
    Participant
    Joined: 05 Jun 2014
    Location: France
    Total posts: 226

    Yes but if one of the electrical experts say I am wrong I will retract what I have said but I know I am right

    <hr />

    😁


    #1822465
    Avatar
    chrisell
    Participant
    Joined: 30 Mar 2015
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 53

    If its part of a general room – I believe so – I’ve certainly run all my room/light circuits together (L/N/E) in the same gaine. I’m not 100% certain re the main house earth

    Every cable is meant to be double insulated anyway – including earth (hence one of the reasons why UK Twin and earth isn’t allowed)- and if its hidden it should be inside a gaine regardless. But double insulated once you’re talking single cable means gaine by default. Also I thought part of the logic was you could pull new cables through going forwards (yeah right ….)

    Cables you can clearly see – have to be double insulated but not automatically in a gaine – but earth cables are only single insulation.m.


    #1822467
    honeybeefrance
    honeybeefrance
    Participant
    Joined: 05 Jun 2014
    Location: France
    Total posts: 226

    Just to be clear I mean the earth running to the earth spike


    #1822468
    mysty2
    mysty2
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Jul 2012
    Location: N/A
    Total posts: 9603

    I always run that separately, if its the one covered in plastic insulation I think it only needs to be in a gain if its running through walls ect. I always use gain so its easy to access if needed and its cheap.


    #1822480
    robertarthur
    robertarthur
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Nov 2010
    Location: Nièvre (58)
    Total posts: 2157
    #1823410
    robertarthur
    robertarthur
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Nov 2010
    Location: Nièvre (58)
    Total posts: 2157

    To pick up where I left off: a diagram, the so called barrette de coupure (or: mesure) for use inside and this one for a wall outside.


    RA

    #1823437
    Avatar
    mikej
    Participant
    Joined: 21 Jun 2011
    Location: Dordogne sometimes and Kent the rest
    Total posts: 5287

    I am probably wrong, but it was my understanding that from the spike to the mesure the cable is bare and from the other side of the mesure it is sheathed yellow green.  :unsure:

    Mike


    WFIPFLL

    #1823441
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    Thats how I did mine and also if I am not dreaming the liason equipotentiales, somewhere in the regs it gives different minimum sections for bare cuivre tressé and insulated, seem to recall the bare can be a smaller section.


    #1823442
    robertarthur
    robertarthur
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Nov 2010
    Location: Nièvre (58)
    Total posts: 2157

    Mixing allowed, as long as you respect the minimum sections, see “Le conducteur de terre“.

    Going up with 16 mm² insulated and going down to the earth spike with 25 mm² bare copper wire is not uncommon. See this website and  picture 1, picture 2 and  picture 3.

     


    RA

French Electrical & Other Building Issues
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.