Viewing 11 posts - 16 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1780170
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408
    #1780172
    Avatar
    kathyc
    Participant
    Joined: 30 Aug 2005
    Location: Mussidan
    Total posts: 3579

    Thats my problem also, I have found some ones with a plug in base station both in France and the UK (try Amazon) search term “sans fil secteur” or thereabouts, my problem now is to find ones that have selectable channels or where all they sell are on the same channel so I can have several chimes spread across the place because I can be working in many different areas, a pager is getting cumbersome and will remind me of the bad old days. I used to hate changing the batteries on average every couple of months, a waste of resources plus often I would not know they were flat and customers would be standing at the gate. Here is just one: https://www.amazon.fr/Lloytron-B7505BK-32-m%C3%A9lodie-Secteur-Carillon/dp/B00ITTBD6O/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1494332743&sr=8-5&keywords=carillon+sans+fil+secteur Being sent out from the UK its likely to have a UKplug, several French sellers also neglect to mention that, most of us will have adaptors though.

    <hr />

    Au royaume des aveugles les borgnes sont rois.

    My indoor unit plugs in – much simpler. (Nor does it seem to need a line of sight.)


    • This reply was modified 09 May 2017 18:37 by  kathyc.
    #1780175
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    That is interesting Jonathan, Cant see anything in the mode d’emploi that speaks of coding so its either they are sold with the TX’s paired to the RX’s or they all work on the same coding.

    If its the latter then its exactly what I want but I think its unlikely as they could interfere with a neighbouring unit within their range.

    Reasonable price also.


    #1813135
    Avatar
    Char
    Keymaster
    Joined: 07 Feb 2009
    Location: 23. Creuse. Limousin.
    Total posts: 5368

    Just a quick note to thank Tom for posting about these.

    We finally got one of the bedrooms built and finished upstairs and had put off putting a light switch at the bottom until we could work out the best way to go about hiding long lengths of cable.

    As we have family coming to stay later this week we had to do something so thought we’d give one of these a go and it’s worked a treat.

    Thanks again Tom. :-)


    #1814036
    Avatar
    wheelers
    Participant
    Joined: 27 Nov 2014
    Location: Bonnieres 62270 and Melksham Wiltshire
    Total posts: 132

    at the price (UK) if similar in France , would explain why the quote for our rewire is so high 1/8th the price of the original house buy price. we were quoted r/c lght switches in at least 12 rooms. plus hall, o/s light, rear entry light etc.


    #1814052
    nomoss
    nomoss
    Participant
    Joined: 09 Nov 2009
    Location: 11
    Total posts: 2156

    I installed a Friedland Libra+ Pro 200m system, which was sent from the UK, in September 2014. Neither the base station’s four “C” cells, nor the mercury cells in the bell pushes have yet needed replacing.

    It has three bell pushes – one on the far side of a concrete gate pillar 25 metres from the receiver, one glued onto the postbox door, sending through  the metal box, two concrete block walls and one brick wall, and a third bellpush sending through an aluminium door frame and an internal wall, all of which work perfectly.


    Thanks to the Autoroutes and the use of GPS it is now possible to travel the length and breadth of France without seeing anything or speaking to anyone. Inspired by Charles Kuralt

    #1814069
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    Interesting Nomoss, the base station batteries have really lasted 3 years? :shock: all the battery powered ones I have used have killed the batterys in little more than a month because they are constantly in recieve mode awaiting a signal, the doorbell may only have sounded once or twice during that time, when you have ” recievers its a lot of batterys.

    Yours arent mains failure back up batteries by any chance?

    The button cells or 12v ciggy lighter batterys in the bell pushes last for years.


    • This reply was modified 02 Dec 2017 11:35 by  Chanceux.
    #1814111
    nomoss
    nomoss
    Participant
    Joined: 09 Nov 2009
    Location: 11
    Total posts: 2156

    Yes, over three years now. I suppose you get what you pay for :-)

    It is so long since I fitted the battery that I had to look it up online to save getting a step ladder to get it down from high on a wall. I didn’t buy one with a mains connection as I don’t like trailing wires.

    I just checked it and my wife said it is too loud – I set max volume so we can hear it from outside, which uses more power.

    I’m sure it doesn’t work as hard as yours, with frequent visitors, but is used a few times a week by the post lady and delivery people, and local kids exercise it from time to time.


    Thanks to the Autoroutes and the use of GPS it is now possible to travel the length and breadth of France without seeing anything or speaking to anyone. Inspired by Charles Kuralt

    #1814112
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    Mine here is a mains powered plug in one so no battery life problems with the inside unit, the one I had in the UK that never ever got pressed (the property entrance was hidden until I had lived there the required 4 years) was the one going flat in weeks.

    I’ll ask the question again to bump it to the top, the system I require here will need one, possibly 2 outside units but 3 inside units all coded to the same external bellpush, most of the ones I have found recently are coded as pairs and you cant add extra internal units to them, the internal units I would prefer to be mains powered but am encouraged by the autonomy that Nomoss has with his.

    Seen anything that fits the bill recently?


    #1814113
    nomoss
    nomoss
    Participant
    Joined: 09 Nov 2009
    Location: 11
    Total posts: 2156

    In the system I have, any bellpush will code to any chime unit.

    They are not paired, but are programmed when put into service, so I see no reason not to have more than one chime unit operating from one or more bellpushes.

    You could verify this with the retailer I used, who I found very helpful https://doorchimesuk.co.uk


    Thanks to the Autoroutes and the use of GPS it is now possible to travel the length and breadth of France without seeing anything or speaking to anyone. Inspired by Charles Kuralt

    #1814129
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    God bless you Rolling Stone!


French Electrical & Other Building Issues
Viewing 11 posts - 16 through 26 (of 26 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.