Viewing 15 posts - 46 through 60 (of 60 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1820900
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.kliksob.forgswitch
    .
    Download this App and you can get to the page for net preference immediately. Note the default setting so you can change back again when finished with LTE only.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1820901
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    Yes it looks exactly like that, did a reboot, its now on LTE/GSM auto (PRL) and working as before.

    Whaddya want I do now?


    #1820908
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    If you change something in network then come out by just pressing the home, centre button, do not exit via back button.
    There is also an option to switch off radio signal and switch on radio signal before making changes. The jury seems to be out on this one, so it may be superflu.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1820910
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    Just info+-

    WCDMA preferred : Le smartphone GSM est capable d’utiliser la 2G et 3G, et quand la force du signal est faible, la 3G est plus favorisée.
    GSM only : Le smartphone GSM communique seulement en 2G.
    WCDMA only : Le smartphone GSM communique seulement en 3G.
    GSM auto (PRL) : Le smartphone GSM communique en 2G et 3G, et quand la force du signal est faible, la 2G est plus favorisée.
    CDMA auto (PRL) : Le smartphone CDMA communique en 2G et 3G, et quand la force du signal est faible, la 2G est plus favorisée.
    CDMA only : Le smartphone CDMA communique en 2G uniquement.
    EvDo only : le smartphone CDMA communique en 3G uniquement.
    GSM/CDMA auto (PRL) : Le smartphone GSM/CDMA communique uniquement en 2G.
    LTE/CDMA auto ( PRL) : Le smartphone LTE communique à la fois en 2G CDMA, 3G EvDO et 4G. (selon paramètres opérateurs)
    LTE/GSM auto (PRL) : Le smartphone LTE communique à la fois en 2G GSM, 3G WDCMA et 4G. (selon paramètres opérateurs)
    LTE/GSM/CDMA auto (PRL) : Le smartphone LTE communique automatiquement en 2G CDMA ou GSM, 3G WCDMA ou EvDO et 4G. (selon paramètres opérateurs)
    LTE Only : Le smartphone LTE communique qu’en 4G uniquement.
    Unknown

    La fonctionnalité LTE/GSM auto (PRL) ou LTE/GSM/CDMA auto (PRL) est souvent activée par défaut pour toutes les personnes qui activent le mode réseau 2G/3G/4G automatique. Cependant, aucun type de réseau ci-dessus permet l’utilisation de la 3G et 4G uniquement en oubliant la 2G (EDGE/GPRS).


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1820951
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    So do you want me to change it to LTE only and try to connect to the Free 4g antenne?


    #1820961
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    The idea is to estimate by using phone whether a 4g router would be viable. So yes try inside outside, not near the tranny you mentioned. After return to default configuration. Mode avion, reboot, etc.
    Q. How many GBs have you used this month for WiFi internet?


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1820971
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    The mon réseau URL is of little use as it is out of date and gives info for SMS and phone NOT FF**IN 4G.
    Fof example around Gourgé there are no Free antennas shown. LIES THERE ARE AERIALS AT LOUIN, LA PEYRATTE AND LAGEON.
    The mast at lageon for example has SFR, Bouygues and Free. The ARCEP COCK-UP shows lageon as being ONLY BOUYGUES WITH ONLY 3G AND 2G.
    Farcical…..almost useless.

    The antennes mobiles App has correct up to date information.

    <hr>
    they hate us because of our values

    .
    Les cartes du service voix/sms ont été conçues pour être compatibles avec l’ensemble des terminaux et n’incluent donc que la 2G.
    .
    What was that?
    Tell me again! :grin:
    .

    Les cartes du service voix/sms ont été conçues pour être compatibles avec l’ensemble des terminaux et n’incluent donc que la 2G.
    .
    Donc, alors c’est vrai.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1820974
    Avatar
    Chanceux
    Participant
    Joined: 17 Mar 2010
    Location: Picardie
    Total posts: 13130

    Q. How many GBs have you used this month for WiFi internet?

    One quarter of a gig and 90% of that was used playing with Speedcheck.

    The smartphone remains at home on the side connected to the wi-fi, if i am going somewhere that I dont know I might take it just in case, maybe to use Google maps, it does get used all the time as a hotspot when i am in the UK which is not often.

    I got it so that I could get new last minute booking notifications from Booking.com so as not to be a prisoner in the property but the f***wits have now screwed them up so the phone is redundant, just a standby.

    As you say the interest for now is whether I could have a 4g router connection.


    #1820982
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    That is very little.
    On this phone I’ve used 10GB,accessing 90 Apps, 5GB for browser and you tube.
    On my other phone it will be at least twice. Say 30GB in total.
    PC never use it, too slow.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1821139
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    I didn’t know but I do now.
    Routers with wifi antenna connections are RP-SMA.
    Routers with cell antenna connections are SMA.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1821155
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.fr%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F222608485055

    Useful link for connectors.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1821157
    AnOther
    AnOther
    Participant
    Joined: 11 Jan 2008
    Location: W of Cahors (46)
    Total posts: 9455

    I didn’t know but I do now.
    Routers with wifi antenna connections are RP-SMA.
    Routers with cell antenna connections are SMA.

    You won’t be the first to learn that the hard way, ie when you finally work out why your external antennas don’t seem to work


    #1821179
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    Be helpful if the chinks could compose their ads better.
    Title and pics show SMA. The description states RP-SMA.
    Just sent a message telling the vendor to get his finger out and tell me what is under the red prépuce cover.
    .
    https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com.au%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F382238715632


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

    #1821197
    AnOther
    AnOther
    Participant
    Joined: 11 Jan 2008
    Location: W of Cahors (46)
    Total posts: 9455

    I would never use RG174 for a 10m run, do you even need 10m ?

    RG8 has under half the loss and is much easier to terminate so you can use just the length you need.

    That stuff isn’t RG174 anyway, it’s too big, real RG174 is 0.1″ or 2.5mm dia.

    The fact that it’s got nothing printed on the sheath pretty well marks it out as cheap junk and god knows how lossy it is so while it’s anonymous it’s got disappointment written all over it !


    • This reply was modified 01 Feb 2018 21:47 by  AnOther.
    #1821251
    loopski
    loopski
    Blocked
    Joined: 23 Jan 2013
    Location: deux sèvres
    Total posts: 9778

    Thanks for advice.
    No problem I shall provisionally install with RG174.
    RG8 is same as RG174 iffy beyond 1000Mhz.
    But I presume you are glued to Bouygues 800 Mhz so you’ll fly with RG8. :smile:
    When I decide on final install and coaxial distances then I’ll move up to ULTRAFLEX 7 or perhaps 10.
    .
    http://dxavenue.com/fr/cable-coaxial/408-cable-coaxial-ultraflex-7.html
    P.S. Still exchanging messages with chink in Kong Hong, only 10 minutes to 7 pm.


    I would lie on top of the stairs and smell the cigar smoke of Castro.

French Electrical & Other Building Issues
Viewing 15 posts - 46 through 60 (of 60 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.