Viewing 15 posts - 16 through 30 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1793863
    Avatar
    ail901
    Participant
    Joined: 11 Aug 2010
    Location: Creuse
    Total posts: 499

    My heads about to explode

    now my ‘better’ half has decided she want the mitchen on the other side of the room which would mean a total run of 15m to the cooker!

    do I need to worry about voltage drop?

    Does it have to be 6mm dedicated cable?


    #1793865
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408

    do I need to worry about voltage drop? Does it have to be 6mm dedicated cable?

    Volt drop is not an issue at that length, even at 32A load, as long as the main distribution board isn’t already a long way from the ENEDIS main disjoncteur. With your derated circuit (16A) it is equally obviously not an issue.

    To stay to the normes you must have a 32A outlet available in the kitchen for future high load use. Common sense says that it should be where you are most likely to site a full cooker or electric hob. I’m assuming you have a gas hob for now, but if you should decide on a change to 7,2kW induction at some point you will be glad of the 6mm² circuit being there. The extra cost of putting in a longer length of 6mm² is as nothing to the hassle of upgrading later…. :wacko:


    Jonathan Badger - St Germain de Tallevende 14500 http://www.badgerlx.fr

    #1793868
    Avatar
    ail901
    Participant
    Joined: 11 Aug 2010
    Location: Creuse
    Total posts: 499

    Thank you (again) may sleep tonight

     


    #1793971
    Avatar
    mrsh
    Participant
    Joined: 02 May 2011
    Location: Kent and Mayenne (53)
    Total posts: 285

    Interested in this as we have just bought a new dual fuel cooker.  It was supplied with a cable that has a standard 3 pin French plug.  The installer simply plugged it into an adjacent socket.  Currently it is in a temporary position.

    So, for the permanent position  wiring will it be ok to simply run it from a 16 amp fuse on it’s own rather than a 32 amp?


    #1793973
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408

    So, for the permanent position wiring will it be ok to simply run it from a 16 amp fuse on it’s own rather than a 32 amp?

    I assume by dual fuel you means it’s got a gas hob & electric oven section? I would treat this as a “four indépendant” i.e. provide it with it’s own 2,5mm² circuit & single 16A socket outlet, via 16A disjoncteur/breaker (fitting actual fuses is now “interdit”).

    If the work involves running a new gaine or cable then it might be worth considering putting in an unconnected 6mm² feed (or at least an empty 25mm diam. gaine) at the same time in case needs change in the future & you need a 32A supply.


    Jonathan Badger - St Germain de Tallevende 14500 http://www.badgerlx.fr

    #1793976
    Avatar
    mrsh
    Participant
    Joined: 02 May 2011
    Location: Kent and Mayenne (53)
    Total posts: 285

    Thank you


    #1793979
    robertarthur
    robertarthur
    Participant
    Joined: 29 Nov 2010
    Location: Nièvre (58)
    Total posts: 2157

    …and even our simple table de cuisson mixte (3 gaz, 1 électrique)  has a 6 mm² feed in the kitchen. Max power around 1500 W, less than an electric heater run from a standard socket. So not dangerous. The last fifteen years used it once because there was no spare gas bottle around. With an excellent four indépendant no need for something bigger.


    RA

    #1793986
    vic evans
    vic evans
    Participant
    Joined: 25 Apr 2015
    Location: Brittany 29
    Total posts: 4066

    I assume by dual fuel you means it’s got a gas hob & electric oven section? I would treat this as a “four indépendant” i.e. provide it with it’s own 2,5mm² circuit & single 16A socket outlet, via 16A disjoncteur/breaker (fitting actual fuses is now “interdit”).

    Phew! I’ve been reading this thread & thought I’d done it wrong.

    I re-wired my place about 11 years ago with rubbish French, no internet forums & plenty of pictures for help.  Thanks to info. gleaned here it seems I’ve actually got things pretty much right.

    My kitchen has a separate gas hob & two independent 2.4 kw ovens stacked vertically in a unit. Each oven is individually served by a 16A breaker & 2.5mm cable so presumably this is OK :unsure:


    The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.

    #1793988
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408

    Each oven is individually served by a 16A breaker & 2.5mm cable so presumably this is OK

    Absolutely, but to be fully compliant with regulations (future proofing) a kitchen needs to be fitted with a 32A supply via 6mm² conductors.

    Unless I know exactly what a client is up to in their kitchen (a rare event….) I always allow for the 32A feed & an independant 16A circuit for an oven. If it turns out that there is a gas hob with electric ignition & a separate electric oven I pragmatically bend the rules & fit a double socket on the dedicated 16A circuit. Another option is to wire the oven or hob to the 32A circuit & derate the disjoncteur.


    Jonathan Badger - St Germain de Tallevende 14500 http://www.badgerlx.fr

    #1794000
    vic evans
    vic evans
    Participant
    Joined: 25 Apr 2015
    Location: Brittany 29
    Total posts: 4066

    Absolutely, but to be fully compliant with regulations (future proofing) a kitchen needs to be fitted with a 32A supply via 6mm² conductors.

    Cheers Jonathan!


    The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it.

    #1795688
    Avatar
    denis
    Participant
    Joined: 24 Feb 2008
    Location: Laboule 07110
    Total posts: 10

    So if you were fitting an oven (6-8kw) with separate induction hob would this require 2 separate 6mm cable circuits?


    #1795689
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408

    So if you were fitting an oven (6-8kw) with separate induction hob would this require 2 separate 6mm cable circuits?

    Yes, if you want to use both to full capacity & comply with regulations (& assuming that the hob is around 7kW max). However, together they would hog the entire maximum single phase supply available domestically in France (12kVA/60A), so you might want to reconsider, or look at needing three phase.


    Jonathan Badger - St Germain de Tallevende 14500 http://www.badgerlx.fr

    #1795690
    Avatar
    denis
    Participant
    Joined: 24 Feb 2008
    Location: Laboule 07110
    Total posts: 10

    Hi Badger

    Thanks for that. Just checked the small print and the puissance total is 3580. What is the limit for 2.5mm cable?

    Just concerned as you point out, that the entire supply goes to the kitchen!!


    #1795804
    badger
    badger
    Participant
    Joined: 04 Dec 2008
    Location: Near Vire (14)
    Total posts: 1408

    the puissance total is 3580.

    Errrr…..of what? The oven or the hob?

    What is the limit for 2.5mm cable?

    It depends on the installation method, but around 24A springs to mind. It you want to run your 3580W appliance via 2,5mm² conductors that will be no problem, as it represents around 15,5A.


    Jonathan Badger - St Germain de Tallevende 14500 http://www.badgerlx.fr

    #1796025
    Avatar
    denis
    Participant
    Joined: 24 Feb 2008
    Location: Laboule 07110
    Total posts: 10

    Thanks badger,

    Oven is 3580 watts now running on 2.5 cable and induction hob running on 6mm cable.


French Electrical & Other Building Issues
Viewing 15 posts - 16 through 30 (of 30 total)

You cannot reply to this topic.