New Map of France Revealed with the Arrival of the “Super-regions”

New Map of France Revealed with the Arrival of the “Super-regions”

France is currently organised into 27 administrative regions, 22 of which are located in the Hexagone in metropolitan France and Corsica, and five located overseas. There has been much noise and contradicting versions surrounding the proposed consolidation of the regions to reduce the top-heavy cost of administration, but finally the new administrative landscape appears to be taking shape, as revealed in the new map (see below).

Each of the current 27 regions are then further subdivided into 101 departments, which are numbered mainly alphabetically. The regions, departments and communes are all known as territorial collectivités, meaning they possess a local assembly as well as an executive. This system has a considerable appetite for public expenditure and adds cumbersome layers of bureacracy.

Regional map of France as it stands today

A new proposal by the current government sees the number of regions cut down from 22 to 14 (*not 12 as announced by the Journal du Dimanche). The majority of regions – with six exceptions such as the densely populated île de France (which includes Paris) and Provence-Alps-Côte d’Azur (PACA), and the island of Corsica – will now be merged into one of the new “super-regions”.

The new landscape of administrative France

The idea is to reduce the cost of administrative overlap by decentralizing a number of services down to the local community level and reducing the number of “Conseil Genérale” (elected regional assembly) offices currently serving the capital of each department, and therefore reducing the number of elected and appointed public servants or fonctionnaires needed to run such offices. If approved, the new regional outline would take some time to implement and is estimated to be in place by 2017. According to an online opinion poll conducted by Le Figaro 66% of people in France agree with the idea of halving the number of regions.

Click here to see the revised version of the proposed map that was approved in December 2014.

Share to:  Facebook  Twitter   LinkedIn   Email

More in corsica, cote dazur, maps, paris, people, traditions

Previous Article Le Voyage à Nantes: Summer 2014
Next Article France showers Lady Liberty with flowers: stirring tribute in New York on the 70th anniversary of D-Day

Related Articles

Sylvia is a freelance journalist based in France, focusing on business and culture. A valued member of the France Media editorial team, Sylvia is a regular contributor to our publication.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  • Sylvia Edwards Davis, Property & Living Editor
    2014-06-03 07:02:39
    Sylvia Edwards Davis, Property & Living Editor
    It will indeed be interesting Pedmar. In all fairness, the idea to reduce the number of regions has been floating around for some time. [I just updated the post to reflect the official announcement of 14 regions instead of 12 as previously thought.]


  • pedmar10
    2014-06-02 18:38:36
    it is indeed lots of overlapping costs, but from him is just a way to turn attention from the real problems at home like unemployment,lack of competitive will,and high corporate taxes to keep investors out. We will see how the voters look to that.