A Guide to the Departments of Occitanie


Essential Reading

A Guide to the Departments of Occitanie

Map of the Occitanie Region

Occitanie (Occitania) is the official name of one of the new regions of France which was formed by merging the two former administrative regions of Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées, during the restructuring of France’s regions in January 2016. The regional capital is Toulouse.

It is made up of the following thirteen departments: Ariège (09), Aude (11), Aveyron (12), Gard (30), Gers (32), Haute-Garonne (31), Hautes-Pyrénées (65), Hérault (34), Lot (46), Lozère (48), Pyrénées-Orientales (66), Tarn (81), and Tarn-et-Garonne (82).

To find property for sale in this region, please click on the following links:

View property for sale in Languedoc-Roussillon >>>
View property for sale in Midi-Pyrenees

To discover more about this region of France and the departments, click on the articles listed below.

Buying Hotspots – LECTOURE

Equidistant between Auch and Agen, high above the Gers River, from which the département takes its name, sits the medieval town of Lectoure, surrounded by crops of sunflowers, wheat, linseed and melons, which reflect its agricultural roots….Read more >>>

Languedoc Roussillon property guide

Stretching along the Mediterranean coast between Provence and the Pyrénées mountains, this region offers a fascinating cultural heritage, a mild and sunny climate, and truly remarkable scenery. It’s no wonder that the area is consistently among the top choices as a preferred location for residential and holiday homes…. Read more >>>


Midi-Pyrénées is best known worldwide for three local “products” that have achieved world fame: Airbus aircraft, Roquefort cheese, and the Catholic pilgrimage centre of Lourdes … Read more >>>

A property guide to Gascony

The rolling hills and forests of rural Gascony, sunny weather, the endless hay-fields criss-crossed by winding roads, the rugged, earthy terroir, hearty gastronomy and proud traditions. It’s not hard to fall in love with the land of Dartagnan, Cyrano and Armagnac…. Read more >>>

Share to:  Facebook  Twitter   LinkedIn   Email

Previous Article A Guide to the Departments of Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur
Next Article A Guide to the Departments of Nouvelle Aquitaine

Related Articles

Charlotte is a freelance writer and photographer, who has been living in France with her family for nearly 15 years. Charlotte has been working with France Media since 2009, firstly as a Moderator on the popular FrenchEntrée.com/forum, of which she now manages the social and technical side, and more recently as the Editor of the French Property and Living Channels of the FrenchEntrée.com website.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *